Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

Not Having to Have All the Answers


This morning I opened my devotional book, God Calling, and turned to today’s date, February 17th. I began reading and was struck with the last two paragraphs of the day’s reading. Here they are:

Seek this time as a time of communion with Me-not as a time to ask questions, and have them answered. And meet Me in Communion. It is soul-food that I have provided.

Do not expect a perfect CHurch, but find in a church, the means of coming very near to Me. That alone matters, then the much, that is husk, falls away. Hold it of no account. Grasp the truth and find Me-the true Bread of Life. The lesson of the grain is the lesson of My Church and Me. The real life is all that matters, the outward Church is the husk; but the husk was necessary to present the life-grain to man.

WOW! How timely, I thought. At a time where there is lots of change taking place in my life, this is what was given to me to read today. I was struck by God’s urging for me to rely solely on Him. He was pointing out to me that I don’t have to have all the answers. I don’t need to have everything figured out. All I need to do is trust in Him completely. As I thought on what I had read, Proverbs 3:5-6 came to mind. It says, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.” (This is not the first time that this scripture has come to mind within the past few weeks.)

I know that it is hard not to ask questions, and to not want all the answers to life, but God clearly tells us to put our trust in Him. He already has it all figured out, and in Jeremiah 29:11 He tells us of His plans for us. “”For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” So, God promises a future of hope and not harm. So why then do we question and want to have the answers? Human nature is to want to know, but as with Christ, that is all we need to know-Him! Christ is the answer, and our trust and hope should rest in Him, not on whether or not we have our to-do lists and daily planners filled out.

I am finding that as I go through this time of change, God is reminding me that He is with me. He is showing me His faithfulness, even when the faithfulness of others fail. He is showing me that He has it all figured out, and that I don’t have to figure it all out. God knows what we can handle, and I believe that the reason we don’t always have it figured out, and we don’t have the answers, is because it is too much for us to bear. That is why God carries that weight, because He is bigger than our capabilities!

So, I challenge you, as I am challenged myself, to give up on trying to find all the answers and trying to figure it all out. Put your trust in God, completely! I believe when we do that, truly, we will see a whole world of amazing wonders opened to us!

Grace and Peace always!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

