Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

Take Courage


The past few days my mind has been filled with tons of different things that have caused me to stress out, freak out, and become anxious.  Sometimes I couldn’t even shut my brain off for a breather. My thoughts were taking over, and it was making me very pleasant to be around (being honest here). I was forming solutions to my anxieties in my mind (which is never a good thing) and was totally leaving God out of the solution. (OMG! Did the pastor’s wife just say that?) Yes, she did. Now, I was telling God about all the things swirling through my mind and letting Him know of the solutions that I was forming, but I was not asking Him about the swirling thoughts or asking Him to just take my anxieties. Last night we had our last evening of our Youth Conference with Duke Underwood. He spoke on David & Goliath, and how we all have giantsin our lives that we need to let God kill. He talked about how David was not the one that Samuel was expecting to annoint as king. As I listened to Duke preach, I felt the Lord was speaking to me through Duke. God was telling me that those swirling thoughts were “giants” that I needed to hand over to Him too kill. He was confirming my calling, by allowing me to listen & hear the story of David afresh. I felt a peace come over me, and decided that God could have my stress, my anxiety, and my freaking out. I also decided it was time for to stop trying to come up with solutions, because all the solution I needed is found in Jesus Christ! And finally, I decided it’s time to stop hopping & skipping around what God has called me to do, even if I am unsure of how I am going to go about getting started. God has all of that firgured out, and He knows that it may prove to have some struggles along the way. But He is faithful! Oh how He is faithful! Time and time again He has proven His faithfulness to me. I realized that during the past few days, I was looking at things trhough my eyes and not looking with His eyes. He sees so much more clearly than we could ever see! I was reminded of a passage of scripture that He has given me before, and I claim this passage of scripture in my ministry.

1 After the death of Moses the servant of the LORD, the LORD said to Joshua son of Nun, Moses’ aide: 2 “Moses my servant is dead. Now then, you and all these people, get ready to cross the Jordan River into the land I am about to give to them—to the Israelites. 3 I will give you every place where you set your foot, as I promised Moses. 4 Your territory will extend from the desert to Lebanon, and from the great river, the Euphrates—all the Hittite country—to the Great Sea [a] on the west. 5 No one will be able to stand up against you all the days of your life. As I was with Moses, so I will be with you; I will never leave you nor forsake you. 6 “Be strong and courageous, because you will lead these people to inherit the land I swore to their forefathers to give them. 7 Be strong and very courageous. Be careful to obey all the law my servant Moses gave you; do not turn from it to the right or to the left, that you may be successful wherever you go. 8 Do not let this Book of the Law depart from your mouth; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful. 9 Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.” (Joshua 1:1-9)

I believe that the Lord has brought this passage back to mind to remind me of how faithful He is, and that He is going to equip me for my calling.  I am not going to freak out about things. I am going to give it to the One who gives me life, who is my Life! He has called me to great things, and now it’s time to take courage & know that “God will be with [me] wherever [I] go.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

