Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

Thank God for The Strawberry Shortcakes in Life


The past few days I have thought about how wonderful it be to have some strawberry shortcake. To taste the juicy strawberries with the yummy cake topped off with a cool dab of whip cream, I thought would be the most wonderful thing. I don’t know if it was due to the thought of everyone grilling out & having BBQs for Labor Day, or maybe it was just the craving for something that I had not enjoyed in quiet sometime. Whatever the reason was,  I wanted this delicious dessert! Last night we get to church for the meal, and what do my eyes spy? STRAWBERRY SHORTCAKE! There is a homemade pound cake, strawberries, and whip cream. I thought I was going to pass out! As I finished my supper, I quickly made my way over to the strawberry shortcake. As I sat down & began eating it I looked over to my husband and said, “You  know how I have been saying that I wanted some strawberry shortcake? Well, God heard me & He answered me.” Brian laughed and replied, “So, it’s like manna from the sky?” “Exactly!,” I replied back.

This got me thinking on how God promises in His word, “Ask, and it will be given you….” (Matthew 7:7) Then in John 16:24, “Until now you have not asked for anything in my name. Ask and you will receive, so that your joy may be complete. Even though I was joking around about the strawberry shortcake being like manna from the sky, I was struck by this reminder of how God provides & cares for us. God promises to provide for us, all we have to do is ask. Now I am not saying that that means that we should ask God to help us win the lottery and expect to hit the big numbers. I am saying that we are to trust that our needs will be provided for us. God will meet our needs. All we have to do is ask & trust Him.

I shared a couple of blogs back about how my mind had been consumed with thoughts that were causing me to stress, freak out, and become anxious. Well, those thoughts started creeping back in last night, and I think God was reminding me of His care for me through that strawberry shortcake. I know that sounds funny and a bit out there, but hear me out. I had been wanting this dessert and had already come to the conclusion that I wasn’t going to enjoy it any time soon, and then I get to church and there it was! Have you ever thought about things you need or wanted, and then there it was (maybe not immediately, but you still recieved it)? Think about how many times you’ve prayed to God and told Him that you just didn’t know how you were going to pay your bills, buy groceries, or come up with the fee money needed for school or an event. Then somehow your bills were paid, you were able to buy groceries, and that fee was taken care of. How many times have you prayed to God about a possible job, and either you got the job or God revealed to you a better way? God works in mysterious ways, and sometimes we fail to see that. Sometimes we need reminding of His faithfulness and how He provides for us, and so we get a “strawberry shortcake” sent our way. I look at the strawberry shortcake as a reminder to me of His faithfulness. God will never leave His children unprovided for or uncared for. I pray that we thank God for the “strawberry shortcakes” in our lives.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

