Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

Take Back Purity


So, I am having a bit of trouble sleeping right now. My mind is focused in on something that is very near and dear to my heart. I am bothered by it, hurt by it, saddened by it, and burdened by it.  What is it, you ask? Teen sex. Yep, that’s what has my brain working in overdrive right now. I climbed into bed with all intentions of heading into dreamland, but my brain was buzzing and my eyes were wide open (although I do feel them getting a bit heavy right now). I shared a bit about myself in my previous blog, and I shared that I felt led to start a ministry for young girls who aren’t sure of who they are. I say this to explain a bit of why this is near & dear to me.  I was one of the statistical teen girls who were having sex, when I was a teenager.  (Letting you in to my inner secret places is not as easy as it may be coming across.) I hurt for these teenagers, boys & girls, because I can see the mistakes they are making. I am saddened because I know the hurt that will come as a result of the mistakes. I am bothered & burdened by the fact that the enemy has blinded them to the fact that this is wrong. I can see myself in all these teens. I want so much to shake them & say, “You have so much potential, so much worth. You don’t have to give in to what ‘everybody else’ is doing. You can rise above, and be yourself without having to give into sexual desires.”  I want to tell the girls that if they think, “Well, we are in love, and he is who I want to be with for the rest of my life. He says he loves me,” that they are not looking ahead enough into the future. Sorry, but odds are that the person you date in highschool will not be who you spend the rest of your life with. What about the guy after that guy, and the next, and so on? Oh, and the boys, I want to say to them, “You aren’t a man for this. This is not what makes you a man. A real man loves a girl for who she is, not whether or not she sleeps with you.” How will you ever know what it means to really be loved & to really give love, if you keep making it into something so plastic & fake?

I want to know, how do we claim purity for our teens? How do we show them what is real? How do make them see that the way God holds sexual intimacy is for their own good? This bothers me. This burdens me. Especially as a parent. I know my kids will make their own mistakes, but I want so much for them to see that there is a better way. I didn’t see that God’s view of sexual intimacy was so important & for my own good until adulthood. I know there are a lot of advertisements & commercials explaining the consequences of being promiscuous, but there is still a void that is not being filled. There is still something missing, because our teens aren’t getting it.

As a Youth Minister, I use to tell my youth that there were 3 consequences to having premarital sex: pregnancy, STDs, & emotional damage. I told them that they may not get pregnant (or get a girl pregnant), and they may not get a STD, but they are guaranteed to have emotional damage. Sex is binding. Every time you sleep with someone you give a piece of yourself away. Emotional wounds are deep & take lots of time to heal. They leave deep scars, & they carry on into other relationships that you may form. This is hard to deal with in other relationships, as it causes problems. 

I know I might sound like I am rambling on, but this is so important to me. I can relate and understand this. Sex is nothing that can be taken lightly. It is not a game. It is not something to do when you get bored. It is not just something to do just because other people are doing it. Sex is a heavy responsibility. It is a binding relationship that is meant for husband & wife. Guys, treat girls with respect. Don’t disrespect them by taking advantage of them. Even if a girl says she is willing, you will still be taking advantage of her. She has a need in her life, and sex is not it. Girls, respect yourselves. Don’t be so quick & easy to throw yourselves at guys. Our bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, and we should treat them like that.

I just ask that we as adults help our teens to see the realities of sex. I am not saying to sit them down & scare them out of ever having sex. But we need to show them how important it is to hold God’s view of it, and wait. I ask that teens take a stand, and claim your purity. Don’t let the enemy’s lies rob you of it.

“Do you not know that you are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in you?” 1 Corinthians 3:16

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

