Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

Let His Love Wash Over You


3The teachers of the law and the Pharisees brought in a woman caught in adultery. They made her stand before the group 4and said to Jesus, “Teacher, this woman was caught in the act of adultery. 5In the Law Moses commanded us to stone such women. Now what do you say?” 6They were using this question as a trap, in order to have a basis for accusing him. But Jesus bent down and started to write on the ground with his finger. 7When they kept on questioning him, he straightened up and said to them, “If any one of you is without sin, let him be the first to throw a stone at her.” 8Again he stooped down and wrote on the ground.9At this, those who heard began to go away one at a time, the older ones first, until only Jesus was left, with the woman still standing there. 10Jesus straightened up and asked her, “Woman, where are they? Has no one condemned you?” 11“No one, sir,” she said.   “Then neither do I condemn you,” Jesus declared. “Go now and leave your life of sin.” (John 8:3-11 NIV)

This account in the Bible of the woman caught in adultery is probably one of the most well known accounts of the Bible. Most people can tell you the account without even opening the Bible. Have you ever thought that maybe the reason for this is because so many people can relate to it? Even if you haven’t been in an adulteress situation (whether it is by your doing, your spouse’s, or maybe it was between your parents and you were just caught in the middle as a child), I believe everyone can relate. Think about all the sins that you have committed, and how people responded to those sins. Did you feel ashamed and guilty? Did people humiliate you and hang it over your head? Was your sinful act thrown up in your face repeatedly even well long after you had committed it? I know I can relate. I have done things in my past that I am not proud of. I have felt ashamed and weighed down with guilt. I have been humiliated by people, and I have had my sins thrown up in my face. So, I can relate to this woman in this account. Yes, what she did was wrong and sinful. But she didn’t deserve to be dragged out in front of everyone to be humiliated and possibly stoned to death.

Isn’t it amazing how Jesus responded to this woman? Even though she had committed a sin and the Pharisees and scribes were wanting her to be punished and humiliated for what she had done, Jesus responded in LOVE. He didn’t make her feel any worse for what she had done. He didn’t point out every wrong thing that she had done in her past. He didn’t write her off. He reached out in love to her. He showed mercy and grace to her. He showed her compassion.

That is how He is, and that is how He is with all of us. There is nothing that we can do that will cause Him to stop loving us. We have been precious to Him since the beginning of time, and we will ALWAYS be precious to Him. Just as He reached out to the woman caught in adultery He reaches out to all of us. When we sin, we can go to Him and receive love, grace, mercy, and forgiveness. He will not humiliate us. He will not condemn us, and He will not bring guilt and shame upon us.

1Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. (Romans 8:1 NIV)

There is hope, healing, love, grace, and mercy found in Christ. He will restore us and renew us. I once felt the Lord impress upon me to share this with someone, “Do not be ashamed of what God has brought you out of.” Now I am not saying to be proud of your past sins, but I believe the Lord is wanting us to rejoice in the fact that He brought us out of those sins & He has renewed us. He is using our past for the good, just like He did with Joseph (see Genesis 50:20).

28And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him,[a] who[b] have been called according to his purpose. (Romans 8:28 NIV)

My prayer is that each of you will know the love of Christ, and know how precious you are to Him. There are no limits to His love for you. He will go to deepest places to rescue you, restore you, and renew you. Just like the woman caught in adultery you can receive love, grace, and mercy. Run into His arms and let His love wash over you today.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Let His Love Wash Over You

  1. Pingback: Let His Love Wash Over You (via Living Wide Awake) « The Way of the Nudge

  2. Joyce Randall on said:

    Thanks so much for sharing this. Recently I was verbally attacked and made to feel ashamed of my past all over again. The first 40 years of my life, I was so lost in the wilderness that I seeked comfort in all the wrong faces. When my Heaven Fatherly finally called me, I asked him, Why Lord, did you wait so long to draw me to you? His anwser was, Child, don’t you know that I formed you and placed you in your mother’s womb, knowing everything that was going to happen to you and that I not only created your strengths but your weaknessess and that I have a plan and purpose for everything you’ve gone through. And that your life is going to be a testimony to so many others.
    Well, at this time in my life, I had not shared what I’ve been through many very many people, it was all too painful and even shameful of things I wasn’t even in control of during my childhood. It scared me to death to even think about sharing anything with anybody. I’ve struggled with this for the last 10+ years and I feel like I’ve finally reached a point where I can hold my head up and still share my life experiences with whomever the Lord leads me to and can truly help them with their journey.
    But then I got the door slammed in my face because I share my testimony too much. I did not understand, don’t they realize the bondage I was in keeping quiet for so many years. We should never make anyone feel ashamed of sharing their testimony. This is the life God gave me and I will walk it out to the best of my ability and will not let people make me feel ashamed of it anymore. I will walk the path HE has set before me for I know what HE has brought me out of and through! We are ALL precious to HIS sight and worthy of being used by HIM!
    Just wanted to thank you for sharing your thoughts on this and I pray that this will encourage others to break FREE from the bondage of people’s judgement of you. Be not afraid for HE is with you always!
    FEAR is not from God, go out and spread the Good News that He has set your FREE!

    • jack0224 on said:

      Joyce, I am so glad that God used this blog for you! God has done amazing things in my life, and I have too have reached a point in my life where I find it freeing to share it with others. Although I am not proud of some things in my past, I am not ashamed of what God has brought me out of. All things in our lives can be used for God’s glory if we will just let Him use it! I pray that God will continue to work through you & bless you as you share with others! Grace & Peace, Jaclyn

Leave a Reply

