Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

Freedom is Here


“I love you, O Lord, my strength. The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my deliverer, my God, my rock in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.” ~Psalm 18:1-2 NRSV

Rock. Fortress. Deliverer. refuge. Shield. Horn of my salvation. Stronghold. What amazing words to describe our God! I can’t help but picture a great rescue as I read Psalm 18. This Psalm describes a God who is not about to stand by and let His children be devoured, enslaved, or killed. No, this Psalm describes a God who will fight for His children, rescue them, renew them, and set them free from captivity. 

I have been working this morning on posting links to an upcoming event that I am putting together that will benefit She Dances, a ministry that I joyfully support. So, when I began reading this Psalm I couldn’t help but picture these young girls who this ministry seeks to help. I guess I need to explain briefly what She Dances is all about. She Dances is a non-profit organization that seeks to bring hope, healing, & freedom to young girls who have been victims of sex-trafficking. Currently they have an ongoing campaign called “Hope for Honduras.” This campaign is seeking to have 200 people commit to giving $20 a month to fund the safe house in Honduras that She Dances has set up for these young girls. These young girls will brought out of horrific environments & placed in this safe home to receive love, care, hope, healing, and a freedom they have never experienced.

Ok, so there is a brief explanation of what She Dances is all about. I began sharing with you how my thoughts were focused on these young girls as I read Psalm 18. Can you picture them? Can you visualize in your mind what they look like? The conditions they live in? The pain they carry? The hopelessness they must feel?

Now, read Psalm 18. Just pause from reading this blog for a moment, and take a moment to read all 50 verses (sounds like a lot, but it’s a quick read). Could you picture these girls as you read? Could you picture Jesus coming to their rescue? Did you see Jesus being their refuge? Fortress? Rock? Deliverer? Could you see the hopelessness fading away and being replaced by the hope of Jesus Christ?  Could you see their pain being taken from them, and being replaced by the love of Jesus Christ?

WOW! I’ve got chills just picturing all of this. How awesome it is that there is hope for these young girls! How awesome is it that Jesus has not forgotten them, and will be their refuge! I pray that each of you reading this have had your hearts touched by the visualization of these young girls. I pray that Jesus will use you in reaching out to these young girls. If you want to learn more about how you can help, please visit www.shedances.org. If you want to check out the She Dances Cup Cake Social then please visit http://www.facebook.com/?sk=nf#!/event.php?eid=147812198597528.

Freedom is here!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

