Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

The Past is the Past


Do you have a past that you just can’t seem to shake, no matter how hard you try? Maybe you can’t shake it because other people won’t let you forget. Or maybe it’s because you can’t seem to forgive yourself for all the mess that came with the past? Whatever the reason is, your past keeps haunting you. Well, did you know that we are not suppose to live life that way? We are not live in the past, but we are to leave it behind and press forward!

“Forgetting what lies behind and straining toward what lies ahead, i press on toward the goal for the prize of the heavenly call of God in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 3:13-14)

We are to continually pursure moving forward in Christ! As I was checking out twitter today, i came across Steven Furtick’s tweet which states, “Just a friendly reminder about your identity in Christ: the NEW you is the TRUE you. 2 Cor. 5:17” WOW! That is so true! Scripture tells us that the old has gone & the new has come! Our past is just that, THE PAST! It is done, finished, over, POOF GONE! We cannot go back to it. We cannot rewrite it. We cannot erase it. But what we can do is learn from it, grow from it, and MOVE ON from it! We are not the same people any more. We are different. 

This Sunday I will be preaching, and my sermon title will be, “A Lesson From Kendra” (for those of you who do not know who I am speaking of, Kendra is a former GF of Hugh Hefner and has her own reality TV show on E!). This message will be about learning & letting go of your past. I have struggled with this myself, and still do at times. I know though, that I am not the “Jaclyn of my past.” No, I am a new creation in Christ Jesus, and He has redeemed me! THANK YOU JESUS! I pray for those of you who struggle with your past. I pray that you will see & believe that the “NEW you is the TRUE you!” So, tell the ghost of your past that you’re not scared any more, because you are over it & moving on!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

