Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

Be Strong and Courageous


A couple of days ago a friend in Christ posted this question on twitter, “What is your life verse?” He had posted that his was Romans 12:2, which is a great verse of Scripture. I was thinking more on this question this morning, and I kept rolling around Joshua 1:1-9 in my mind. This passage of Scripture is very near & dear to me, as I felt the Lord give it to me when He called me into ministry. Here it is:

1 After the death of Moses the servant of the LORD, the LORD said to Joshua son of Nun, Moses’ aide: 2 “Moses my servant is dead. Now then, you and all these people, get ready to cross the Jordan River into the land I am about to give to them—to the Israelites. 3 I will give you every place where you set your foot, as I promised Moses. 4 Your territory will extend from the desert to Lebanon, and from the great river, the Euphrates—all the Hittite country—to the Mediterranean Sea in the west. 5 No one will be able to stand against you all the days of your life. As I was with Moses, so I will be with you; I will never leave you nor forsake you. 6 Be strong and courageous, because you will lead these people to inherit the land I swore to their ancestors to give them.  7 “Be strong and very courageous. Be careful to obey all the law my servant Moses gave you; do not turn from it to the right or to the left, that you may be successful wherever you go. 8 Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful. 9 Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”

What a powerful passage of Scripture! I felt the Lord speaking to me through this passage, as to say, “Jaclyn, I have called you to go out and tell other people of my great love. Share with them my goodness and faithfulness. Tell them about my grace and mercy. Share with them how I have and am still working in your life. Offer them hope. Offer them grace. Offer them love. Offer them ME! And when it gets tough, and you begin to question whether or not you are able to do this, remember that I am with you. I will do what I say I will do. I will make the way for you, just trust in Me. Everywhere you go, I will be there. Every step you take in my Name, will be honored. You will bring Me to places that have never known Me. You will be the change. You will make a difference in my Name.”

I think it is so awesome to be called into God’s ministry and to do His work! I want so much for others to know how loved they are. I want other people to know how wonderful Jesus is, and how much He cares for them. I want to bring the hope of Christ to places that seem without hope. I want to be the change and make a difference for Jesus Christ. I urge each of you to discover what your life verse (or passage is), and live it out! I encourage you to uncover your God-given dreams and pursue them, even if it seems difficult. There is no such thing as impossibility with Jesus.

“Be strong and courageous; do not be frightened or dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” ~Joshua 1:9

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

