Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

Pushing Past the Pain, and Breaking Free into Healing


Over the Christmas holiday my family and I decided to load up our car, and visit our family and friends out-of-state. We had a great time hanging out with, chatting with, and eating with our wonderful family and friends (We also enjoyed visiting our favorite store Barnes & Noble for some yummy Starbucks). My husband and I had also decided that even though we were on vacation visiting everyone, we still wanted to attend a worship service. We talked about our options of churches we could visit, and we decided that we would attend worship at a place that was well, a place of hurt for both us. We decided that seeing the faces of those we love and those that love and support us, was well worth walking through those doors again. As we walked into the sanctuary we were met by some of the people who I told you made it worth it to walk through those doors. It felt good to see their sweet faces, and it warmed my heart. As we found a seat and began to worship, I looked around the sanctuary and my eyes became focused on some of the people who made it difficult to walk through those doors. My mind quickly went back to all the hurt that I once felt. The pain. The sadness. After the music was over, we walked around during the greeting and fellowship time and found other people that we were excited to get to see ( I was trying not to feel overwhelmed by knowing we might run into others who might not be so excited to see us). Once the fellowship times was done, it was time to listen to the sermon.  That particular Sunday another staff member (not the pastor) preached. I tried to focus intently on his message, but my mind was swirling with what had happened at this place. Again the hurt, the pain, and the sadness. But a funny thing happened (not as in funny haha though), I had a peace wash over me. There I was sitting in a chair in the back row, with my mind focusing on past things, and a peace came over me. It was refreshing. I began thinking on the healing that has taken place since those dark days, and how far we have come since then. What God is doing in our lives, and has done since then, is amazing and sweet. I felt like God was reminding me of this, and allowing me to see that the hurt I once felt has been replaced and is still being replaced with His healing. It was like He was opening my eyes and heart to see, that those dark days no longer had to consume me. I think I might have even smiled a bit, thinking about all of this.

I still have a bit to go on completely letting go of the hurt and pain, but I am so thankful for the healing that has taken place already. I am thankful that I have a God who loves me so much, that He would replace the hurt with His love. I am thankful that I have a husband who loves me and pushed through the hurt and pain with me. I am thankful that I have a husband who is patient with me and walks with me during my moments of weakness. I am thankful that I have people in my life who love me, support me, and stand by me. ( I am also thankful for the times that set me straight.)  This reminds me of Psalm 30:5 which states, “Weeping may linger for the night, but joy comes with the morning.”

You see, God loves us so much that He promises to replace our weeping with joy. How awesome is that? My hope in sharing this with you is that those of you who are experiencing hurt in your life will take comfort and be encouraged in knowing that God is with you. He will replace your sorrow with joy. You can push past the hurt and pain, and experience healing in your life. There is no hurt too much that God cannot mend it. There is no place dark enough, that God cannot bring light to it. There is no pain too intense, that God cannot heal it. God is a God of grace, mercy, and love. He is a God who never abandons His children. And He is a God who loves like no one else! I pray that my story has encouraged you, and that you experience the healing and love of Christ in your life.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Pushing Past the Pain, and Breaking Free into Healing

  1. timothybrianturner on said:

    Good stuff! God’s healing is so evident in our lives.

Leave a Reply

