Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

Jesus Said What?


The other day as I was reading over all the blogs that I subscribe to, there was one that stuck out to me. (http://ragamuffinsoul.com) Carlos Whittaker is the owner & author of this wonderful blog. The post that grabbed my attention was “Disturb and Disrupt–The Message. I clicked on the video that was included in the post, and I will have to confess that when I saw that the video was nearly an hour-long I almost decided to skip it. I decided I would watch a bit of it, and as I was watching I couldn’t stop watching. The Holy Spirit was really speaking through Carlos’s message. I won’t give it all away, because I think it is well worth the time for you to watch this video for yourself. But I will tell you that he shares a story during the message in which he said that sometimes Jesus speaks through us and we don’t even realize it. Sometimes Jesus says things through us that we don’t want Him to say. I was blown away by this. Well, last night I experienced this in a way. I was leading worship during our Wednesday evening service, and as I was praying for the people in Arizona these words came out of my mouth, “Lord, I also pray for the shooter. God have mercy on him, and open his eyes to a better way.” As soon as “God have mercy on him” left my mouth I thought to myself, “What did I just say? These people are probably thinking that I have lost it. I need to be praying for the victims & families that this crazy man hurt, not for him to be shown mercy!” But the more I think about it, that IS exactly what I needed to pray. Jesus knew what needed to be prayed for, and He spoke it through me.

“Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness; for we do not know how to pray as we ought, but that very Spirit intercedes with sighs too deep for words. And God, who searches the heart, knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints according to the will of God.” Romans 8:26-27 NRSV

I pray that Jesus would continue to speak things through me, even if what He says isn’t necessarily what I want Him to say.  Have you ever experienced a time where Jesus spoke something through you and it wasn’t necessarily what you wanted Him to say?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

