Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

Cowardly or Boldly?


I would like to introduce to a member of the Turner family.

Meet MJ, the princess dog of the house. Yes, I call her my little princess, but sometimes I think I should call her the coward of the house. You see, MJ is scared of just about everything. When it rains (as it is today) she shakes and whimpers due to the thunder. When the smoke detector beeps, she runs whimpering and shaking to the nearest person in hopes that they will pick her up and comfort her. When it is wet outside, she tries desperately to hover over the grass so that none of her paws touches the wet grass (she has yet to realize that this is futile).  A couple of weeks ago I discovered she is scared of a digital thermometer beeping. And just this morning she leapt off the couch and ran whimpering down the hallway after Brian made a squeaking noise with his shoe on the hardwood floor. *Sigh* Yes, MJ is one weird little dog. I think she could replace “Courage the Cowardly Dog” on cartoon Network.

At this point you might be asking yourself, why I am sharing this with you. Well, as I was folding laundry this morning and watching my “little princess” dog shake in fear of the squeaking shoe noise, I thought about how we are often just like MJ. When God calls us to do something that is outside of our comfort zone we often run away whimpering and shaking at the very thought of it. We are scared, and we just want to run away. But God promises us something.

“I hereby command you: Be strong and courageous; do not be frightened or dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” (Emphasis added)

God doesn’t just call us to do something and leave us to fend for ourselves. NO! He goes with us! God calls us to be bold and courageous for Him! He calls us to whatever it is that He has called us to do, because He believes in us. He knows what we are capable of and what we just can’t handle. God has planned great things for His children, and we should not be afraid of those great things.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to be a chicken when it comes to doing what God has called me to do, because that would mean I would miss out on the greatness of God. I want to be bold, courageous, and fearless! I don’t want to run and hide. I want to run out to the front lines and confidently pursue my God-given calling! My prayer for you is that you won’t be like my “little princess” MJ, but that you will be the mighty warrior in God’s Kingdom that He has called you to be!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Cowardly or Boldly?

  1. timothybrianturner on said:

    Good post! If only MJ would realize God is with her.

Leave a Reply

