Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

40 Day Prayer Challenge for She Dances


Well today was Ash Wednesday. The day that marks our beginning of the Lenten season. The day where some people attended an Ash Wednesday service and participated in the imposition of the ashes upon their foreheads. And also the day where some people frantically tried to rack their brains to figure out something they could give up for 40 days (the length of Lent; Sundays are not included as they are “Mini-Easters”), because they hadn’t really given it much thought beforehand. Well, I had put some thought into what exactly I would be giving up, or fasting from, for Lent and decided I would “Just Say No!” to cookies, candies, cakes, ice cream, and pies. These little bundles of deliciousness are huge weaknesses for me, as I would prefer to eat them over everything else. (I might even take an IV of sugar if it was offered.) As I was coming to terms with what I felt I should lay to the side for this season, I kept thinking on an organization that my husband and I support and believe in, She Dances. (She Dances is a non-profit organization that seeks to bring healing, hope, and freedom to young girls who have been victims of sex trafficking. Learn more at www.shedances.org) I know you are probably asking yourself, “What does giving up goodies have to do with She Dances?” Nothing really, but I felt the Lord nudging me to do something for She Dances during these 40 days. So, I began to think on just what I could do for 40 days to make a difference, and I came up with PRAY. Yep, you heard me. PRAY. Each day of the 40 days of Lent, pray for a different aspect of She Dances.

I want to invite and challenge you to join me on this journey in praying for She Dances during these 40 days of Lent. Each day let’s pray for a different aspect of She Dances (the young girls who are being set free, Safe House in Honduras, 200/20 Campaign, Jeremy & Nedra: directors, University Chapters, those that give, sharing,  that more people will join in the support,etc.). Then on each Sunday during this season let us give thanks for all that God is doing in and through She Dances, and then celebrate it! I encourage you to pass this challenge on to your family and friends, maybe even your church. Who knows, maybe even complete strangers! I believe God is wanting to do so much more in and through She Dances. I believe that prayer is a POWERFUL thing and when we engage in it we will see the hand of God move in mighty ways.

So, are you up to the challenge? Will you join me on this journey in praying for She Dances? Will you share this with others? I hope so!

“For where two or three come together in my name, there am I with them.” Matthew 18:20

Grace and Peace

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “40 Day Prayer Challenge for She Dances

  1. Jaclyn,

    Yes my friend I will pray with you for She Dances and their very cause to change the world for Christ! I have some very dear friends who leave for Cambodia in less than a week, who will spend their lives trying to impact girls and women who are tragically captured by sex- trafficking!
    My heart is forever endeared to praying for this tragic situation, so YES my sister… I will pray in agreement with you!

    Thank you for posting this need!

    Tab

Leave a Reply

