Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

Can I Get a Do-Over?


Have you ever had one of those days where you just wish you could have a do-over? How about a morning? Well, today is just one of those mornings for me. I was awakened at 5:oo am this morning (a whole hour and a half before I normally wake up) by someone else’s alarm going off. The alarm, needless to say, continued to go off every 5 minutes until I jumped out of bed at 5:15 am and informed the owner of the alarm to shut it off, and that I didn’t want to hear it go off again until 7:00 am. Then as I was preparing to head back to my comfy bed, I was stopped by a small voice, “Mom. I need you.” So, after about 10 minutes (which felt like a whole hour) of helping the owner of the small voice, I climbed back in bed. I closed my eyes, and just like that MY alarm goes off! REALLY?! Now I know that I at least got another hour of sleep, but it felt more like another second. As the morning routine for the week began to unravel, I soon discovered I had a case of the “Grouch-Os.” No one was safe! I snapped at the owner of the small voice, and unleashed the horrible “Grouch-Os” on her, which didn’t help anything (she had the “Grouch-Os” too, as 5:15 am was not a good wake up time for her either).  I proceeded to get myself ready for the day, all the while informing my “still trying to wake up himself” dear hubby that I was in no mood for anything today, and I was really wanting to pinch someone’s head off. (Yes, I think if I owned one of those stress ball dolls, its head would have been removed from its body).  Then, after I had put my face on and fixed my hair, I went into the owner of the small voice’s room and apologized. I felt bad for unleashing the rabid “Grouch-O” on her.

You know the marvelous thing about God is that He IS in the business of “do-overs.” He wants us to have another go at it. He wants us to want to do better. He is not satisfied with just leaving us in a mess. No, He wants us to get out of the mess and start all over! So, as I look back over what has taken place this morning for me, I am thankful I have a LOVING Father that says, “YES!” when I ask Him if I can have a “do-over.”

 Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed, 
  for his compassions never fail.  They are new every morning; 
  great is your faithfulness. Lamentations 3:22-23

Grace and Peace

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

