Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

Refocus on the One who Walks on Water


Yesterday was not a very good day for me. It was a day of recuperating from a horrible evening the night before, and so let’s just say yesterday I was out of it. I was zoned out for the most part, and just physically, emotionally, & spiritually drained. I felt beaten down by the enemy, and felt as if I had been left in a desert to die. As, the day went on I met with my wonderful VCG, & it was just a  breath of fresh air & encouragement that was much-needed. After my VCG closed out, I had to get back to the grind. Kids to pick up from school. Errands to run. Supper to prepare. And then our Spiritual Renewal Conference to attend. I will be honest and say that I really was not wanting to go to the SRC. All I wanted to do was stay curled up in my big comfy chair, and retreat within myself. But seeing as though I am the Pastor’s Wife and the one leading the music each night, as well as singing a few songs with my husband, I put my “big girl panties” on and off to the SRC I went. We started the service with a few praise choruses, and then it was time for my husband and I do our special music. As my husband strummed his guitar, and I stood there in front of the congregation preparing to sing my heart out, I totally forgot how the song that I was about to sing went. The first verse came out all wrong, and I tried to recover but it just wasn’t working. All I could do was shut my mouth and bow my head. (I wanted to run out the back door.) My sweet husband stopped playing, and informed the congregation (that was praying in a whisper for me) that we would be starting over. As we started over, it all came back.

After our songs, we sat down and another man stood up to sing a few songs. At this point, my brain was going ninety-to-nothing with “Jesus, I just want to go home.” As the man sang “Jesus, The Sweetest Name I Know”, I locked my eyes on a stained-glass picture of Jesus walking on the water. Then a verse of the song stuck out & resonated in me, “Kings and Kingdoms will all pass away, but there’s something about that name.” As I looked at Jesus on the water & thought on that verse of the song, it was as if the Holy Spirit was reminding me that when I focus on Jesus everything else fades away. And also, that everything of this world will not last, but that Jesus will always remain. The Holy Spirit was speaking to me, and letting me know that all of my burdens, cares, anxieties, and heartache of the day were fleeting. They would pass, but I always have Jesus.

“Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will never pass away.” Matthew 24:35

“The world and its desires pass away, but the man who does the will of God lives forever.” 1 John 2:17

What comfort that is, to know that we always have Jesus. No matter what we are going through in life. No matter how rocky, bumpy, heart-wrenching, exhausting, or difficult our situation may be, Jesus is always there. Our situations won’t last forever, but our Lord and Savior will! I encourage you to refocus yourself on the One who walks on water. Let everything else fade into the background. Don’t lose hope beloved, because Jesus is here!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

