Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

My Mom


As Mother’s Day approaches very fast (tomorrow), I am reminded of what an awesome Mom that I have. I was always the shy kid out of my siblings and I. My sister was the more outgoing one, and my younger brother might not have been as outgoing but he still wasn’t afraid to be away from my Mom’s side. Me on the other hand, well let’s just say that my Mom’s legs probably had permanent grooves where my arms remained tightly around them. I never wanted to be far from her. When people spoke to me, I quietly retreated behind her and buried my face in the back of her legs. I didn’t know these people, but I knew with my Mom I was always safe. As I grew older, I ventured out from behind her legs, but still kept pretty close by. I liked being around my Mom. At family functions, I was near her. At social gatherings, I was near her. At church, I was near her (except for when she was in choir). Wherever she and I were together, I was near her. As I grew into a teenager, I ventured out a bit more. I still wanted my Mom close, but maybe not as close. I was trying to find myself, and at times I thought she was cramping my style. But I always knew she was close by and would welcome me back near her when I wanted. I would often visit her at the school she taught at, when I got out of school. I liked visiting my Mom at her job. I thought it was pretty cool to watch her teach students about one of her passions-art. Then as I graduated and went on to college (I started out at a Community College nearby), I would sometimes still visit her in her classroom as she taught. Growing into a woman, I have valued her advice. I still like to have her close, even if it’s through Facebook or a phone call. My Mom taught me what it means to truly be in love with God. She has taught me what it means to live selflessly. She has taught me what it means to love.She has taught me what it means to never give up.  My Mom has taught me a lot of wonderful things, and I treasure all that she has taught me. God has truly blessed me beyond measure with my Mom. He knew exactly what He was doing when He chose her to be my Mom & chose me to be her daughter. So, although I may not be behind her with my head buried in the back of her legs, I still like to keep her close. Because I still think she is awesome. Yep, that’s my Mom and I love her! Happy Mother’s Day Mom!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “My Mom

  1. That is awesome! You look just like your Mama!! She’s beautiful (and so are you!)

    • Jaclyn_Turner on said:

      Awwwww, thanks girl! You are too sweet! I am going to miss VCG. 😦 Hopefully we can all have a free evening one night where can meet!

Leave a Reply

