Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

Never-ending Supply


Tonight I had a thought hit me. You know one of those “it has to be God bringing that to mind” kind of thoughts?! Have you ever had one of those? Those kinds of thoughts are pretty eye-opening and amazing. This one was no different. Ok, so enough about how I had this thought and on to what the thought was.

Have you ever felt kind of burned out on doing devotions? Have you ever just not felt like reading scripture or praying? Then you begin asking yourself, where do I go when I don’t feel like doing any of these things? Where do I go when I feel burned out on doing spiritual disciplines? Answer: JESUS! Yep, you heard me. When you feel burned out on doing devotions, you go to JESUS. When you don’t feel like reading scripture or praying, you go to JESUS. Seems kind of odd, maybe? I mean you’re probably saying something like, “Wait, I just said I didn’t feel like it. But now you’re telling me that when I don’t feel like meeting with Jesus, I need to go to Jesus? What?” Yep, that’s right.

Listen to what Matthew 11:28-30 says, “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”  (The Message)

I love how The Message puts it! Jesus says that when we don’t feel like it, go to Him! When we are burned out, go to Him! When we are worn out from all the spiritual disciplines, go to Him! We have a never-ending supply in Jesus! Jesus will always fill us. He will always refuel us, revive us, and rejuvenate us. Isn’t that awesome?!

So, I encourage you, if you are feeling burned out on devotions or just don’t feel like reading scripture or praying to go to JESUS. He will fill you. He will give the breath of fresh air that you long for.

Grace and Peace

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

