Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

The Circus of People Pleasing


“We do not dare to classify or compare ourselves with some who commend themselves. When they measure themselves by themselves and compare themselves with themselves, they are not wise.” 2 Corinthians 10:12, NIV

 

“Oh, the joys of being a people pleaser,” said no one ever. Come on, we all know what it means to be a people pleaser. I know all too well, because that is an area I struggle with. Yep, I want everybody to like me. I want everyone to be happy with me at all times. I get anxious whenever I feel that someone doesn’t like me, and I begin to try and figure out what I could’ve done to cause this person to not like me. Again, this is an area I struggle with.

Being a people pleaser is like being in a circus act. You jump through one hoop in order to gain another person’s approval, only to find that the first hoop didn’t quite cut it. So, you jump through another hoop, and another hoop, and another hoop, and etc., until you no longer even know who you really are. You see, when we try to please everyone, we slowly lose sight of who we are created to be. We forget that the only One who we are suppose to please is God. 

These people we are trying so desperately to gain approval from have no say so over our eternal life. They cannot make us a better person. They cannot bring true lasting happiness. In the end, all we are left with in the game of people pleasing is heartache and misery. But when we seek to please God, and allow Him to take care of the people around us, we are filled with lasting joy and a peace that passes all understanding. 

So, I say let us leave the circus, and let us seek to the please the One who created us!

Grace & Peace, Jac

Image

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

