Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

It is Time To Take Action


Image

I just finished reading a friend’s post on why she cares so much about health and fitness, and it got me inspired to share in my own space.

Last week there was a lot of talk about the Victoria Secret’s fashion show. That one hour even caused quite a stir. Some people were all excited and couldn’t wait to see the “angels” strut their stuff on the runway, while other people were busy posting “angel bash” all over social media. There were even posts from fellow Christians urging people (women in particular) to not watch the show and to focus on scripture that pointed to who God really wanted them to be.

As my friend pointed out in her post, I completely agree with the fact that God is concerned about our heart. Yes, He is more concerned about our character more than if we own designer clothes or wear a size 2, 6, or whatever. But I also agree with my friend, in that God is concerned about our health.

Come on, scripture does point out that our bodies are a temple for the Holy Spirit. So, if that is true, why wouldn’t we concern ourselves with our health?

Did you know that over 65% of Americans are considered overweight? Did you know that over 33% of Americans are diagnosed as being clinically obese? 95% of all prescription drugs are lifelong drugs.

Do these statistics shock you? Do they cause you to get a little angry? I really hope they awaken you to the problem that we are facing in our country. What we are putting into our bodies is not solving the problem. It is only fueling the problem! We aren’t taking pills to make us healthy. We are taking pills to maintain our sickness!

I don’t know about you, but this makes me mad. I mean, I know that there are times when medication is needed, so don’t get all in a tizzy and send me “hate mail.” But I do believe that medication needs to be our last resort.

Imagine if what you ate allowed you to stop taking some of the medication you are currently taking. Imagine if your kids weren’t sick as often just because of what they are eating and how active they are. What if you didn’t have to take numerous trips to the pediatrician for that nasty bug that just keeps coming back?

What if we just started living healthier lifestyles? What if we told the pharmaceutical  companies and major food companies that we were done being duped? What if we all banned together for a healthier country for our children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren? The possibilities are endless!

So, what did the Victoria Secret fashion show have to do with this post? Well, I actually was one of the ones who was turned off by all the “angel bashing” going on. Yes, there are models who are not living healthy lifestyles and aren’t modeling what it means to be healthy, but that is not the case for ALL models. And just because you are a size 0, 2, or 4 doesn’t mean that you aren’t healthy. I will be honest, I wear a size 2 and 4. I don’t share this to boast, but I share it as a way to say I don’t abuse my body to be this size. I work my butt off every day to be healthy. That includes working out, eating clean, and drinking plenty of water. It doesn’t come naturally for me, and I don’t go to drastic measures to be a certain size. And I am sure that some of those Victoria Secret models do just the same thing.

It is time we stop making excuses for being overweight and unhealthy, and call it like it is. It is time we start caring about our health, and stop trying to sweep it under the rug. It is time we woke up to the reality that we have an epidemic on our hands. It is time to take action.

If God cares about me, that includes my health too. There is not one single part of me that isn’t a concern to God. God cares about you too, and that includes your health. So, my question to you is this. Are you ready to take action and stop with the excuses?

Grace & Peace, Jac

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

