Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

In the Midst of this Storm There is still HOPE


Today brought a lot of heartache and sadness to many of us. As a parent, I cannot even begin to fathom getting a phone call to say that someone took the life of my children. I don’t even want to think on that. And as a daughter who loves her parents and are thankful for all that they do in my life, I cannot wrap my mind around the thought of taking the life of one of my parents. Yes, today was a tough day. It was a hard day. It was a dark day. So many emotions to deal with. So many questions that don’t have answers. So much chaos.

As I drove back to the house today from taking our kids to spend the weekend away, I decided to listen to Hillsong. I had been running my own questions through my mind over and over, and just couldn’t understand why something so horrific and evil could happen. I mean, where was God? Did He take a break while all this took place in that elementary school today? Did He decide to turn a deaf ear or a blind eye? I needed to to just enter into His presence and rest with my questions. I needed to lay my questions at His feet and find a way to just leave them there. I needed Him to show up and show me that hope could still be found.

As He so wonderfully does, He showed up. He assured me. He gave me peace. And He used the song “Cornerstone” by Hillsong to do so. Friends, I don’t know why this happened today. I don’t know why evil decided today was a good day to show up. But I do know that God did not turn a deaf ear or a blind eye. His heart was breaking (and still is) as this tragedy unfolded. He was (and is) crying with all of us. He was there weeping with each parent that received a phone call today. He was there with each child and teacher at that school today.

My friends God was NOT absent. He was very present, as He always is. He cares deeply for each of His children, and not a single detail goes unnoticed by Him. I have to disagree with the posts that I have seen where the picture states, “Student: God where were you? God: I’m not allowed in schools any more.” Yes, we have been told that we can’t hold prayer in schools and teachers are not to discuss issues of faith with students. But that does not mean that God is not there. As a believer you carry God everywhere you go, and no amount of legislation can change that.

It wasn’t that God was absent. Evil just happened not to care that the Almighty God was there. Evil chose to ignore righteousness. Evil chose hate over love.

There is hope. In the midst of the storm, there is still hope. In the midst of this tragedy, there is still hope. As this song states, in the storm He is Lord of all. Nothing will change that. No amount of evil can change that. No amount of hate can erase that. Jesus is Lord, and He weeps with us all tonight. Jesus is Lord, and He comforts us. Jesus is Lord, and some day soon He will set things right. Evil will not prevail friends. Christ will triumph.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

