Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

I Have A Dream


Image

Today is Martin Luther King Jr. holiday, as many of us know. It got me thinking on these famous words from Martin Luther King Jr., “I have a dream.” Read that again, “I have a dream.” MLK didn’t just have any dream. His dream wasn’t to one day own a BMW, or to one day become the most famous person on earth. His dream wasn’t to open an ice cream shop with over 100 different flavors, or to one day sell men’s clothing. He didn’t even dream of becoming a famous rockstar. No, MLK’s dream was much bigger than any of those dreams. His dream was for prejudice and racism to exist no more. His dream was for his children to experience a world where everyone of all races could interact freely and openly. His dream was a BIG dream.

All of these got me to thinking. Do I dream BIG? I mean, really BIG? Are my dreams of just ice cream shops and fancy cars, or do my dreams carry the potential to make a difference in this world? Will my dreams lift others up or only build myself up? Say these words again, “I have a dream.” Say them though for yourself, not as if you are hearing MLK speak them. What kind of weight do they carry for you? Do they make you stop and evaluate your dreams? Do they make you excited for the fire in your gut to make a difference?

Did you know that God has BIG dreams for you? Jeremiah 29:11 speaks it so clearly, ” ‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.'” Did you catch that? (I know I am full of questions today.) God has a wonderful future planned for you! He has BIG dreams for you! And no, that doesn’t necessarily mean that you will have everything in the world you ever wanted, but it does mean that He wants to lavish you with His love. He wants to pour out his blessings upon you. He wants share his goodness with you. Those are BIG dreams my friend. Those are the dreams laid out for you.

So, my challenge to you today is to dream BIG. Embrace God’s BIG dreams for you. Share your dreams. Encourage others to dream BIG. Dreaming BIG is not something just for people like MLK. Dreaming BIG is for you and me as well.

Grace & Peace, Jaclyn

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

