Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

Getting to Repent


Image

I am currently reading the the She Reads Truth devotion plan on prayer, and this morning’s devotion was on prayers of confession and repentance. Let’s be honest and go ahead and get it out in the open, this is probably one of the least favorite prayers of anyone. We have to come face to face with the sin in our lives and lay it before our Heavenly Father (who, by the way, already knows). Not something that would seem enjoyable for the most part.

As I was reading a thought occurred to me after a certain passage:

“Like all the other beautiful parts of sanctification, our Father has given us wisdom regarding confession and repentance so that we can grow closer to Him and one another. It’s not a have to, it’s a get to.”

Did you get that last statement? It’s the statement that grabbed a hold of me this morning. Confession and repentance is not something we HAVE to do. It something we GET to do through God’s grace. God doesn’t require anyone to confess and repent. He allows us to confess and repent so that we can enter into a relationship with Him.

I thought about how growing up in church, I have always heard it said, “If you want Jesus as your Lord and Savior, you MUST confess your sins and repent.” But hold up. I don’t have to. God doesn’t make me do anything. He’s not like that. God has given me free will to choose Him. To choose to love Him, to serve Him, to follow Him. He doesn’t make me do it.. So, if He doesn’t make me do those things, then He doesn’t make me confess and repent.. He allows me to do that, so that I can be made new and have a relationship with Him. Why? Because He loves me.

God is not a forceful God. He desires that all will be saved and follow Him, so that they might have life to the fullest. And that is why He allows us to confess and repent. We GET to confess and repent, so that we can have a relationship with our Heavenly Father. It is our choice. Our decision. Out of our own desire. What an awesome God we serve.

Grace & Peace, Jac

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

