Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

Faith in the Raw


Image
T
his quote sums it up almost perfectly for me. No matter how many times I have told myself, “I will just give up. This is too hard,” I can’t throw in the towel. My desire to have a baby with my husband isn’t a desire like walking into Kohl’s and seeing that beautiful Vera Wang handbag that I would love to have. It’s a desire that goes much deeper, and one that can’t fully be expressed in words. So, here I am. Another month. Another cycle. Part of me wants to throw in the towel and just say, “Screw it!” The other part of me says, “You can’t give up. You want this child. Have faith.” 

Faith. You would think that as a Pastor’s Wife and Christian I wouldn’t struggle with faith, right? Wrong. I struggle with having faith just like anyone else struggles with it. There are times when I have incredible faith, and then there are times when it is difficult to even have the faith the size of a mustard seed. Today is one of those days. It’s been over 3 years and nothing has changed. I have no answers as to why my body isn’t conceiving our desired child. No magic tricks to share that got us success. No babies to even speak of. Just the same charted cycle month after month after month. The same “negative” pregnancy tests. The same ovulation predictor kits letting me know that there is nothing wrong in that department. Just the same. 

This morning I read from Hebrews 11, and verse 11 struck me. 

“Because of faith also Sarah herself received physical power to conceive a child, even when she was long past the age for it, because she considered [God] Who had given her the promise to be reliable and trustworthy and true to His word.” Hebrews 11:11, Amplified Bible

 

It is sort of obvious as to why this verse would stick out to me, right? I know. And then again this verse also had me telling God, “Please Lord, please don’t let me have to wait till I am as old as Sarah before I receive my child of promise.” Seriously, this is a concern of mine. I have shared it on numerous occasions with my husband. I want that “physical power” that Sarah received. I want her faith. But wait, didn’t she laugh first? Didn’t she think it to be a joke? Yes, she did. So, then where was her faith? Maybe it was in the fact that in the back of her mind she continued to cling to her desire, and when God shared that she and Abraham would have their child of promise she clung even tighter to that desire and hope. She may have been laughing on the outside, but maybe in the depths of her soul she was shouting, “Yes, Lord! Yes! I believe it! I receive it!” Maybe. Just maybe. 

I can share from my own experience that even though my husband and I have three children between us, the desire to have a child together is strong. Our desire to have this precious child doesn’t mean that we don’t love the three children we have now. Our child of promise is wanted. It is already loved. It is prayed for. My soul yearns for this precious child. My heart longs for Ada and/or Liam (maybe the Lord will choose to bless us with just one, or maybe He will bless us with both). 

So even though part of me is screaming, “Screw this! I am done! I have had enough of this emotional roller coaster. I am sick of the same crap every month. I am tired of seeing pregnancy announcements, birth announcements, gender reveals, and the likes plastered all over my social networks, all while I am over hearing dying inside. I have had enough of it!,” I can’t ignore the other part of me. The other part that whispers, “Don’t give up Jaclyn. It’s not a lost cause. Your pain will turn into joy soon.” And it might sound weird and crazy to some of you, but even though there are times when I am so mad at God and want to scream at Him over this pain, He is where I find the greatest comfort. I can do nothing apart from Him. I am afraid of the dark pit I might find myself in if I let go of Him for even one second. So I cling tighter to Him. I rest in Him. I bury my sobbing heart in Him. And I allow Him to hold me while I break into a million pieces. And He lets me. There is no other place that makes sense for me to be than in His arms. It is the only place that makes sense. 

I will continue to press on in faith even on the days where my faith isn’t even the size of a mustard seed. Why? Because I know my God is greater than any pain I might have. He is bigger than any doubt. He is more powerful than any disappointment and discouragement I might face. He is my God who loves and adores me no matter what. He is making a way even if I can’t see it. And He is forever faithful. The enemy will not have the victory because I am the precious daughter of the Most High God, and in Him is where I find my strength, hope, and faith. 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Faith in the Raw

  1. Jaclyne, I am believing with you. I have walked the path you are on and know first hand how mountainous it feels….every month. I can honestly say that believing for my children, I now have two, for nine years was my biggest mountain to date. It tried my faith and produced a resolve inside me that is more precious than gold. The Lord gave me a song during that time of waiting and believing. I hope it will encourage you. Here are the lyrics.

    I believe that your word is true.
    I believe the word of God, what you said you’ll do. You’ll do.
    I believe no matter how I feel.
    I’ll not be moved by circumstance, but on your promises I’ll stand.

    I believe and I know I’ll see the fulfillment of your word.
    I have faith because I’ve heard.
    I believe that you’re faithful God.
    Your promises are true. I believe in you.

    I believe.

    There were many days where I had to look at myself in the mirror and tell myself “even if you are 50 years old, you will give birth to your baby.” For me, I knew that I was to carry and birth my children. I had spent many hours in prayer and I knew that was the path I was to take. It was my good fight of faith.

    Keep believing.

    • Jaclyn_Turner on said:

      Thank you so much for your encouragement and sweet words Tamera. It means a lot to me. 🙂 ANd what a beautiful testimony you have. 🙂

  2. Jaclyn,

    I read this on yesterday and it really touched me. And, I had to read it again today. I was having some faithless moments yesterday, but like Sarah, I had to consider who has given me the promise. Definitely could relate to you as a pastor’s wife and someone who has been trying to conceive for a 1 1/2years. Thank you for this. I fight/get angry with God, but then I just have to rest in Him. I pray for your faith to be sustained and strengthen as we continue on life’s journey and wait on his promises.

  3. I’m with you, friend. I’ve walked it. Allowed my heart to become so hard. God had a plan for me, and He has a plan for you. I believe it fully. I cling to Ezekiel 36:26 now because it’s where He brought me from…

Leave a Reply

