Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

My Joy


20131025-093915.jpg

I saw this picture as I was scrolling through my Instagram feed this morning. I stopped. I read. I read it again and again. The caption under the picture read, “Let something steal your joy, and you let something steal your strength. Ann Voskamp” That statement struck a chord with me. I had let something steal my joy this morning, and I was sinking fast into a deep dark pit of self-pity. I was angry with God and wanted to fuss Him out. Oh, I have no doubt God can handle my temper tantrums. He’s a big boy, I get that. But why would I resort to doing that? Is it’s God fault? No. Is He the reason for heartbreak? No. Is He the reason for my hurt and pain? No. Does He understand it? Yes. The enemy is the one who comes to kill, steal, & destroy (John 10:10), not God. The enemy prowls around like a lion looking for those he can devour ( 1 Petter 5:8). Not God. Christ came so the I may have an abundant life (John 10:10). He wants to give me the desires of my heart (Psalm 37:4). He is life, love, and joy. He is hope. And if I give in to the schemes of the enemy then I have allowed the enemy to steal my joy, and therefore steal my strength.

I believe it was no coincidence that I saw this picture in my feed this morning. I believe it was a word from God. He was reminding me of where my joy comes from. He was reminding me that I must be strong and steadfast. He was reminding me of His great love for me.

I pray this blesses you today, for those of you who needed this word too.

Grace & Peace, Jac

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

