Live Simply

Journey of faith, fitness, family, fashion, and fun

Don’t Let a BAM Day Steal Your Joy


Have you ever had one of those days where the day starts out going great and then all of a sudden without warning it’s like, “BAM”, smack you in the face horrible? Well, yesterday was a day just like that for me. I got up and did the morning thing of getting kids up and ready for school, getting myself ready for the day, and making sure there was coffee to be consumed. Once the kids were off at school, I worked out, and got ready for a meeting I had to attend. The meeting went great. I was approved and re-certified as a Continuing Candidate for ministry in my denomination, and I was full of thankfulness for how God was working in my life. Worship music in the car. Singing at the top of my lungs. Reflecting. Then, came the “BAM” part.

Headache creeping back. Phone call that was less than pleasant. Couldn’t get my daughter to her Girl Scouts meeting, because my husband had accidentally grabbed both sets of car keys on his way out to our son’s football banquet. One very disappointed (and over-dramatic) little girl. Creeping headache became massive headache. Feeling like locking myself in the bathroom, curling up in a ball, and crying. 

As I thought about all of this after-the-fact, I thought about how the enemy tries his best to mess things up for us. He has no desire for any good to take place in our lives. He can’t stand it when God is working in our lives. So he does what he can to create misery, despair, chaos, frustration, and stress. All in hopes that maybe we will just throw our hands up and say, “I surrender! I give up!” But listen to what Jesus says in John 10:10

‘”The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.”

Jesus promises us an abundant life and tells us that the enemy is out to rob us of that abundant life. The enemy works hard at our thoughts, in order for us to feel absolutely put out and discouraged. How can we praise God and give thanks if we are so consumed with discouraging thoughts? We must recognize this, and stand firm when the enemy comes to attack us. We have to stop and refocus our thoughts on God. God desires the best for His children, and we have to trust that. Sometimes we lose sight of that when we give in to the lies that the enemy is pushing on us. But we can take back control, by thinking on God and His goodness.

The good part of my day yesterday hadn’t changed. It was my mindset that had changed. I had allowed the enemy to steal and kill and destroy my joy, by allowing the circumstances to get to me. I don’t want to be a sucker for the enemy’s tactics. I want to be a warrior for Christ! I pray that if you are having a bad day, that you will stop and refocus your thoughts on God and His goodness. It will bring a whole new perspective.

Grace and Peace

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Don’t Let a BAM Day Steal Your Joy

  1. Oh yes… I know how BAM can change the day! Had that same scenario Sunday. Great GREAT day at church this weekend, only to have a blow-up at home with the kiddos. ARGH! Thank you for posting!

Leave a comment